Dec. 18, 2018 • 2018 ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS Photo album of the 2018 academic awards and scholarship awards ceremony.
Peter Hiscocks Aug 1, 2018 • PETER HISCOCKS, IN MEMORIAM Peter Hiscocks, a retired faculty member in the Department, passed away on August 1, aged 73.
ryerson logo June 21, 2018 • HIGHEST ACCREDITATION RATING • All of the Department's engineering programs received the highest accreditation rating (6V) by the Canadian Engineering Accreditation Board (CEAB) of Engineers Canada.
ryerson logo May 18, 2018 • COMPUTER NETWORKS PROGRAM DIRECTOR • Muhammad Jaseemuddin takes over as the new Computer Networks (CN) program director. Congratulations to Prof. Jaseemuddin and a big "thank you" to the outgoing program director, Bobby Ma, who has been the CN director since its inception.
ryerson logo May 1, 2018 • DEPARTMENT NAME CHANGE • The Ryerson University Senate unanimously approved the name change of the Department; it will henceforth be called the Department of Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering.
May. 1, 2018 • CAPSTONE DESIGN PROJECT AWARD WINNERS • Each of the three programs, Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering had three projects honoured with a Gold, Silver and Bronze award at the 2018 Department Open House.
COE Gold AwardGOLD: Device to Device Social Communications sorted by Geo-Location and Tags: Menachem Ellenbogen, Avramchaim Levy, Puya Rajabian.
Supervised by Dr. N. Khan.

COE Silver Award SILVER: Vehicular Network of Smart Cars: Donte Graham, Nejen Rajenteran, Christian Tam.
Supervised by Dr. Jaseemuddin.

COE Bronze Award BRONZE: Design and prototype a NoC based System-on-Chip for multimedia applications: Robert Stefan, Stephen Delong, Sebastian Salazar.
Supervised by Dr. G. Khan.
ELE Gold AwardGOLD: Follow Me Robot: Mohid Tayyub, Hao Lin, Disha Patel.
Supervised by Dr. N. Khan.

ELE Silver Award SILVER: Intelligent Phone System Interface for the Physically Challenged: John Machado, Daejune Oh, Hong Truong.
Supervised by Dr. Kassam.

ELE Bronze Award BRONZE: Smart Connected Farms: Bahaa Saoor, Ravi Kumar, Yinni Cao.
Supervised by Dr. Raahemifar.
BME Gold Award GOLD: AutoMate - A physiological fatigue detection system for drowsy driving prevention: Jennifer Eshoua, Taspia Wahid, Abdelrahman Abdou.
Supervised by Dr. Krishnan.

BME Silver Award SILVER: A Mechanism for Applying Biaxial Tensile Forces to Cells Encapsulated in 3D Hydrogels: Adi Lightstone, Komal Kamran, Maryam Nejatian.
Supervised by Dr. Waldman.

BME Bronze Award BRONZE: Somatosensory Evoked Potential And Electromyography Monitoring Of Spinal Cord Integrity: Sunjeev Phull, Afsan Bari, Mohamad-Ali Bahsoun.
Supervised by Dr. V. Yang.
ryerson logo Mar. 23, 2018 • LONG-SERVICE EMPLOYEES • Congratulations to our Departmental family members Prof. K. Clowes, Prof. G. Zywno and Ms. Marta Toste for 35 year of service and Ms. Yvonne Cordwell for 25 years at the University.
Feb. 23, 2018 • Sri Krishnan was recognized by Elsevier editors of the Biomedical Signal Processing and Control Journal for "outstanding contribution in reviewing for the contributions made to the quality of the journal".
Feb. 15, 2018 • Sri Krishnan will be one of the keynote speakers at the 4th IEEE Middle East Conference on Biomedical Engineering (MECBME) taking place March 28-30 in Tunisia.
Jan. 23, 2018 • BEST PAPER AWARD The paper titled "Real-time System for Human Activity Analysis", won the Best Paper Award at 2017 IEEE International Workshop on Intelligent Multimedia Application and Design for Quality Living conference. It was authored by Randy Tan, Naimul Khan and Ling Guan. A second paper, "Heterogeneous Features Fusion with Collaborative Representation Learning for 3D Action Recognition", by Chengwu Liang, Enqing Chen, Lin Qi and Ling Guan, won the Top 5% Paper (out of 130 accepted papers), at the IEEE International Symposium on Multimedia.
Both the workshop and symposium took place in Taichung, Taiwan in December 2017.