

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science

2013 Graduate Research Excellence Awards

Graduate Research Excellence Awards (GREAs) promote scholarly research publications of graduate students in peer-reviewed main-stream scientific journals and conference proceedings. To ensure a fair and transparent selection process, The GREA Selection Committee consisting of a number of faculty members with expertise covering the major research areas of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering conducted a rigorous assessment of all applications. A selection criterion was developed and used to assess all applications. Each application was assessed by all GREA Selection Committee members *independently* and the scores from each GREA Selection Committee member on each application were compiled to generate the final averaged score of the application. To avoid the conflict of interest, committee members were not allowed to rank their own students. The applications were then ranked based on their final score. A total of 25 applications were received (5 MASc and 20 PhD). Based on the number of applications in MASc and PhD categories, 4 awards were allocated for MASc and 16 for PhD.

It is my great pleasure to announce the winners of 2013 Graduate Research Excellence Awards:

- 1. 2013 GREA winners in MASc. category (alphabetical order)
 - 1) Kari Magtabay
 - 2) Subaagari Seevaratnam
 - 3) Ziyang Zhang
 - 4) Guangyu Zhu
- 2. 2013 GREA winners in PhD. category (alphabetical order)
 - 1) Alaa Abdullah
 - 2) Krishnanand Balasundaram
 - 3) Apprarao Dekka
 - 4) Peter He
 - 5) Fatima Hussain
 - 6) Sebastian lunissi
 - 7) Kandasamy Illanko
 - 8) Naimul Khan
 - 9) Xiaoming Nan
 - 10) Ehrnaz Shokrollahi

- 11) Ghassem Togighi
- 12) Anita Tino
- 13) Barry Voung
- 14) Zhibing Xie
- 15) Venkata Yaramasu
- 16) Yushi Zhou

Each winner will receive \$2500 from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and a certificate signed by the Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

On behalf of the Department, I thank you and your research supervisor(s) for your hard work and contributions to the continuous success of Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Ryerson University!

Congratulations to all 2013 GREA winners and keep up the excellent work in research!

Fei Yuan, PhD., PEng.

Professor and Chair

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ryerson University